Too close to call, Legislature to decide gubernatorial race in January

Joan Lenes and Kate Webb stand outside the polls at the Shelburne Town Gym Tuesday morning. Lenes and Webb won their bid for reelection as State Representatives.

Shelburne boasts 59% voter turnout
2,996 out of 5,069 registered voters make their way to the polls.

Editor’s note: Figures in this article are the unofficial results of the general election as of Wednesday morning, Nov. 5.

On the morning of the midterm elections, Tuesday, Nov. 4, it was clear that voter turnout would not be as high as it was two years ago. Despite lower numbers at the polls, 969 registered voters cast absentee ballots, making up close to a fifth of the total ballots cast.
Incumbents Joan Lenes and Kate Webb ran unopposed. Webb won the House seat for district 5-1 with 1,263 votes; in Shelburne’s district 5-2, Lenes received 944 votes.

Other outcomes

The race for governor is too close to call. As neither incumbent Peter Shumlin nor challenger Scott Milne received a majority vote, the race will be decided by the legislature when they convene in January. In Shelburne, Shumlin garnered 52.6 percent of voters’ ballots, exceeding his statewide haul of 46.59 percent. Milne dropped behind with 41.7 percent of the vote in town, slightly lower than his statewide results of 45.19 percent.
Representative to Congress Peter Welch holds his position with 68.9 percent of Shelburne votes and 64.52 percent of votes in Vermont.

In the Lieutenant Governor’s race, Shelburne voters supported Republican Phil Scott with 58 percent versus a distant 41.5 percent cast in favor of Progressive/Democrat Dean Corren.

Democrat Beth Pearce won her bid for State Treasurer with 81.8 percent of votes in Shelburne and 74.35 percent of votes in the state.

Incumbent Jim Condos won the race for Secretary of State with a generous 87.6 percent of votes.

Doug Hoffer won an unopposed race for Auditor of Accounts.

William H. Sorrell beat out Shane McCormack with 64.1 percent of votes in Shelburne and 58.73 percent of votes in the state.

State Senators who won their races include: Tim Ashe, Phil Baruth, Virginia “Ginny Lyons, Michael Sirotkin, Diane B. Snelling, and David Zuckerman.

Susan Fowler ran unopposed for Probate Judge and won with 100 percent of the vote.

Charles Delaney and Connie Cain Ramsey were both voted in as Assistant Judges with 50.4 and 49.6 percent of the vote respectively.

Thomas “T.J” Donovan ran unopposed and won his race for State’s Attorney from Chittenden County.

Kevin M. McLaughlin beat Owen Mulligan in the race for Sherriff with 92 percent of the vote.

Daniel L. Gamelin won the bid for High Bailiff with 56 percent of the vote.

The following were elected as Justices of the Peace: Nancy E. Baker, Dennis Bowen, Chris Chiarello, Peter Gadue, Laura Gannon-Murakami, Susan Holson, Jennifer Leopold, Thomas Little, Becky Moore, Carrol Ockert, Marsett Ockert, George Schivone, Lee Suskin, Gary von Stange, and David Webster.