Vermont Public Service Awards honor Shelburne’s local officials


Every five years, the Vermont Public Service Award program honors individuals who have served as elected or appointed local official, or as a fire and rescue worker, for 20 or more years.

This year 37 individuals who have served Shelburne in a variety of capacities, along with other recipients from Chittenden County were honored in a ceremony last Thursday led by Vermont Secretary of State Jim Condos and other Legislators at South Burlington High School.

Ruth Morrow, who has served on the Cemetery Committee, Library Board and an Election Official received her award for 50+ years of service. Paul Goodrich, Shelburne’s Road Commissioner and Cullen Bullard, Firefighter have both served over 47 years.

Since the program was first established in 1999, hundreds of Vermonters have been honored for their public service. The goal of the Vermont Public Service Awards is to give dedicated local officials the recognition they deserve and encourage others to serve their respective communities. Over the past decade Shelburne has been well represented at the Awards. 28 recipients were honored in 2010 and 23 in 2005. Each recipient receives a certificate and a pin designating their years of service.

Vermont Public Service Awards

Shelburne officials

  • Ruth Morrow, 50+, Cemetery Committee, Library Board, Election Official
  • Paul Goodrich, 48+, Road Commissioner
  • April-21-VSPA-Cullen-BullardCullen Bullard, 47+, Firefighter
  • Christine Terry and Joanne Bessette represented Thomas T. Bessette
    Christine Terry and Joanne Bessette represented Thomas T. Bessette
    Thomas T. Bessette, 40+, Selectboard; Health Officer; Champlain Water District
  • Rick Lewis, 40+, Water Superintendent
  • April-21-VSPA-Dave-McLellanDave McLellan, 39+, Firefighter
  • Craig Wooster, 36+, Firefighter; Fire Chief
  • Marvin Thomas, 35+, Recreation Committee
  • Colleen Haag, 33+, Town Clerk, Town Treasurer, Board of Civil Authority
  • April-21-VPSA-Peggy-CoutuPeg Coutu, 30+, Recreation Committee
  • April-21-VSPA-Peter-GaduePeter Gadue, 30+, Justice of the Peace; Emergency Management; Social Services; Water Commission
  • Fritz Horton, 30+, Historic Preservation; Civil Authority
  • Jennifer Leopold, 30+, Justice of the Peace
  • Tom Little, 30+, Zoning Board: Town/School Moderator; Justice of the Peace; Ethics Committee
  • James Warden, 30+, Police Chief
  • David Webster, 30+, Justice of the Peace; Historic Preservation
  • Lynn Carlson, 25+, EMT; Rescue
  • April-21-VPSA-Dan-CoutureDan Couture, 25+, Harbormaster
  • April-21-VPSA-Julia-JakesJulia Jacques, 25+, EMT; Rescue
  • Tom Koerner, 25+, Historic Preservation; Zoning Board
  • Lisa Mann, 25+, Asst. Town Clerk, Justice of the Peace
  • Stuart Morrow, 25+, Cemetery Committee; Sexton of Cemetery
  • George Nichols, 25+, EMT; Rescue
  • April-21VPSA-DorotheaDorothea Penar, 25+, Historic Preservation and Review; Neighborhood Paths
  • George Schiavone, 25+, Justice of the Peace; CCTA
  • Kristy Oxholm, 24+, Firefighter
  • April-21-VSPA-Jerry-OuimetJerry Ouimet, 22+, Fire Chief; Firefighter
  • April-21-VPSA-Ann-ClarkAnn Clark, 20+, Recreation Committee
  • Peter Frankenburg, 20+, Advisor on multiple committees
  • April-21-VPSA-Paul-IrishPaul Irish, 20+, Firefighter
  • April-21-VPSA-Joan-LenesJoan Lenes, 20+, Legislator State of VT; CVU School Director etc
  • Gary Marcotte, 20+, Firefighter
  • Ron Murdock, 20+, Firefighter
  • Carroll Ockert, 20+, Justice of the Peace; Veterans Memorial Committee
  • Matt Smith, 20+, Firefighter
  • Wendy Turner, 20+, EMT; Rescue
  • John Weber, 20+, Firefighter

List of recipients courtesy of Shelburne Town Clerk

Leave a Reply

Shelburne News requires that you use your full name, along with a valid email address. Your email address will not be published, shared, or used for promotional purposes. Please see our guidelines for posting for full details.