Five candidates seek three Vermont Electric Co-op director seats

Five candidates are vying for three open seats this year on the board of the Vermont Electric Co-op.

The election opens April 17 and will end with winners announced at the co-op’s annual meeting at Smugglers’ Notch Resort on May 12, according to a statement from the utility.

Every year, co-op members elect local representatives to serve on the utility’s 12-member board. Directors participate in setting policies and making decisions and are expected to represent the interests of the membership.

This year the election will decide a seat in three of the co-op’s districts. One seat has a single candidate; the other two seats have two candidates each running.

Schuyler Jackson of Hinesburg and Charlie Van Winkle of Underhill are vying for the seat to represent Vermont Electric’s District 5. That encompasses the towns of Bolton, Essex, Hinesburg, Huntington, Jericho, Milton, Richmond, Shelburne, Starksboro, St. George, Underhill, Westford and Williston.

The election will take place by mail and online. Members in the districts with elections should receive information and ballots in the mail after April 17, the company said.

Vermont Electric Cooperative is a nonprofit, member-owned electric utility serving approximately 32,000 members in 75 northern Vermont communities. It is the largest locally owned electric distribution utility in Vermont.

Leave a Reply

Shelburne News requires that you use your full name, along with a valid email address. Your email address will not be published, shared, or used for promotional purposes. Please see our guidelines for posting for full details.