High school athletes earn postseason accolades

Photos by Al Frey
CVU athletes received postseason honors and are named to prestigious teams for summer play. From left, Jason Bortnick and Liam Reiner playing baseball; Lydia Maitland and Jackie Ryan playing hockey, and Natalie Durieux on the soccer field.

Champlain Valley Union’s Natalie Durieux was named the Gatorade Vermont Girls Soccer Player of the Year this week.

The Hinesburg native scored nine goals and recorded seven assists this season as she led the Redhawks to the Division I state championship and an undefeated 17-0 season last fall.

Durieux was also named the Burlington Free Press Player of the Year, is a two-time first team All-State selection and was named an All-New England player this year.

Durieux, who will attend and play soccer at the University of Vermont in the fall, also maintains an A average, according to the press release from the Gatorade Company, and she volunteers with Vermont Special Olympics and youth soccer programs.

“This is a tremendous and well-deserved honor for Natalie,” said CVU coach Stan Williams. “She represents everything you could ask for as a scholar athlete and it is great to see her hard work recognized. She was absolutely dominant this season and I can’t wait to watch her continue her career at UVM.”

The recent graduate is the third CVU girls soccer player to earn the Player of the Year honor.

CVU baseball players Jacob Bortnick and Liam Reiner have both earned spots on the Vermont Twin State baseball roster.

Bortnick, a catcher, and Reiner, a pitcher, are among the 18 players from the Green Mountain State who will take on New Hampshire in the annual rivalry game on Saturday.

The 2018 Twin State baseball game will take place at the Maxfield Complex in White River Junction. Pre-game festivities start at 9:30 a.m., with two seven-inning games to follow.

Mike Czok (Randolph), Shawn French (Oxbow), Marcel Girouard (Burlington) and Jason Tarleton (Woodstock) will coach the team.

Joining Bortnick and Reiner on the field are: Leif Bigelow (Brattleboro), Dan Petrie (Brattleboro), Sky Rahill (Burlington), Jay McCoy (Burr and Burton), Brayden Howrigan (Enosburg), Tyler Hamilton (Hartford), Jake O’Brien (Harwood), Nick Fitzgerald (Lamoille), Nate Selby (Lamoille), Brandon Brunell (Lyndon), Dustin Whitcomb (Mount Abraham), Jake Choiniere (St. Johnsbury), Jasper Rankin (St. Johnsbury), Sammy Premsagar (South Burlington), Seth Balch (Windsor) and Owen Tarleton (Woodstock)

Champlain Valley Union’s Lydia Maitland and Jackie Ryan will represent Vermont in the 21st annual Make-A-Wish All-Star Twin State Hockey Classic.

Vermont will take on New Hampshire at UVM’s Gutterson Fieldhouse on June 30. The girls game will begin at 4 p.m., with the boys game to follow. Tickets are $10 for adults and $5 for students, and admission is free for children ages six and under.

New Hampshire earned a 7-5 win in last year’s girls contest, though the Green Mountain State holds a 9-8-3 advantage in the series.

The Vermont boys got a 3-2 win last year but New Hampshire has the 16-8-1 lead in the matchup.

Leave a Reply

Shelburne News requires that you use your full name, along with a valid email address. Your email address will not be published, shared, or used for promotional purposes. Please see our guidelines for posting for full details.