Digging in

Photo by Carol Talley
Left to right: Kevin Unrath, Pierson Library director; Mark Neagley, president Neagley & Chase Construction; Jason Broughton, assistant Vermont State Librarian; Shelburne Selectboard member Dr. Josh Dein; Lee Krohn, interim town manager; Cathy Townsend, Construction Committee chair, committee member Ann Smallwood; Andrea Murray, principal architect, Vermont Integrated Architecture; Jaime Heins, Selectboard vice chair; Ruth Hagerman, Pierson Library Trustees chair; Alice Winn, construction committee member.

Folks gathered Saturday to formally break ground on the $6.5 million project to rebuild Pierson Library, renovate the 1927 Town Hall, and update the Town Center campus. Work should end next summer.

A New Beginning
by Rick Bessette

Let us move forward together
As we break this historic ground.
For future generations,
With a foundation strong and sound.

It will be a space for learning,
A place to come and gather round.
A place for all, both young and old,
Here, in the center of our town.

Bessette is Shelburne’s first poet laureate.

Leave a Reply

Shelburne News requires that you use your full name, along with a valid email address. Your email address will not be published, shared, or used for promotional purposes. Please see our guidelines for posting for full details.