Nominations sought for Colleen Haag Public Service Award

Nominations are open through Feb. 11 for this year’s Colleen Haag Public Service Award.

Only Shelburne residents may nominate someone for the award and the award selection committee will only consider nominations sent via email (preferred), or U.S. mail. The committee so far has received several nominations.

Email to, or send by postal mail to Haag Award Team, c/o Shelburne Town Manager, P.O. Box 88, Shelburne, VT 05482. The award will be announced at Town Meeting on March 4. Questions may be emailed to the same address.

The award was established in 2016 to honor Haag, Shelburne’s town clerk for 35 years, upon her retirement. Haag still serves as town treasurer. Previous recipients have been Jim Brangan, active with the local Boy Scouts and the Fire Department, and longtime former Shelburne Police Chief Jim Warden.

Looking to honor Haag’s example of professional and faithful service to the community, the award was established so that “Shelburne would recognize one of its own with a Public Service Award to be presented to someone who by his or her actions exemplify the spirit of public service, who has shared his or her time, talent and energy for the betterment of our community, who inspires purpose, who drives lasting solutions, someone who makes a difference.”

The selection team members are Brangan, Bud Ockert of the Veterans Monument Committee and Memorial Day ceremony coordinator, and Pierson Library Trustee Lisa Merrill.

Leave a Reply

Shelburne News requires that you use your full name, along with a valid email address. Your email address will not be published, shared, or used for promotional purposes. Please see our guidelines for posting for full details.